Reprogramming PCMs on cars.

Hello.
I am a technical school student. My objective is all electric on the car.

It would be an interesting to learn how to tweak PCMs, since I see several practical uses for the knowledge.
People use it in areas from car theft to tuning and engine redesigning.

Is there any way I can learn what programming goes into PCMs and any method I can make my PC communicate with it? How to program it.

If I want to tweak a PCM of, let's say an 07 Honda Civic, where do I go look for resources?

Are PCMs programmed in Assembly?

Thank you.

hello and welcome
theres alot of information on the PCM (ECU) and certain software can only read it where as other software can write to it. tweaking a map takes alot of thinking and checking sensors

hello and welcome
theres alot of information on the PCM (ECU) and certain software can only read it where as other software can write to it. tweaking a map takes alot of thinking and checking sensors

Can you point any specific ones?
What do I begin my "education" with?

What is the linking hardware and is there any textbook?

I went to Amazon ,Google, and other places to look for books on the subject and there aren't many.

What is the official name of PCM redesigning?
Thank you.

Last edited:
there isnt alot of info on it as every ECU is programmed differently
i use VCDS but this only covers VAG group cars and with my cable only to around 2004. it allows me to change certain parts, recode the immobiliser, switch on extras that were optional extras, adjust the service schedule.

i couldnt however connect this up to a BMW as it wouldnt read.

I believe it's called engine remapping. From what I know, there are remapping modules that you can use with spliced in box, direct fitted connection, or replacement PCM/ECU. I've even seen in magazines the wireless ones. you strike me as someone with a laptop and you can run your car with one if you have the software. I don't know what it is since I have no means of doing it.