Air Fuel Ratio and throttle response on modified 1.6t

daveboden

Car
Elantra GT 1.6t
Hello all,

I am new to turbo tuning and looking for some advice/insight into the recent symptoms I have experienced with my 2020 Elantra GT N Line 1.6 turbo. I bought the car with 40k miles on it and it came with an aFe Takeda Momentum Intake and Velossa Big Mouth ram/snorkle.

Lately, when accelerating from a stop light there has been a strong hesitation before the car starts moving quickly. The power/boost seemed to be getting worse as well as time went on. I attributed to something with the stock throttle delay from the pedal so I bought a Pedal Commander thinking it might help. There was a noticeable difference but it was still jerky from stopped to moving and power was still dropping. The more I reduced the throttle delay the jerkier it got, so that wasn't the problem. One day I noticed the Takeda intake box had a large hole in the side I am assuming for sound/extra airflow so I decided to look for the cap in the glovebox and found it, so I capped it off to see if there was any change. (I know, LESS airflow?!) To my amazement the car almost immediately cleared up all symptoms and the power/acceleration went through the roof. Acceleration improved so much I removed the Pedal Commander completely as it was accelerating too fast from a stop even at the 'city' driving setting.

At this point I was very confused so I decide to check some data.
- With the cap out, the AFR is consistently staying between 14.6- 14.9 regardless of throttle % or speed, RPM, etc. Boost maxing at 12-13 psi. noticeable slower 0-60.
- With the cap installed, I am seeing around 13.5 AFR at idle and cruise and around 13.2-13.4 under moderate load. Boost maxing at 17-18 psi. Quicker and more powerful all around.