hi, audi a3 1.8 sport. 2001 reg. Not a turbo lol

Rob24

Car
audi a3 1.8 sport
Just bought a audi a3 1.8 sport, put a deposit down and picking it up tuesday. Im new to audi's an i've always wanted one. I was going to get the 1.9tdi but in a rush to buy a car for work, i have picked up the 1.8 sport, i must admit i thought there wasn't a standard 1.8 sport without the turbo so i'm a bit dissapointed to only have 125bhp rather than 150 bhp.

And noticed the 1.8 gets looked down to compared to the 1.8 turbo. What are the best changes i can make to improve the bhp on mine. And i am not in a position now to sell it and get the turbo.

Also i would like to know the common faults to look out for?. When i went to the dealership to have a look at it, it had just come in as part ex, and they were working on it. A few pipes had perished slightly in the engine bay which were getting replaced and a spring at the back.

thanks peeps Rob

Firstly, Rob, welcome to Torque Cars. Secondly, thanks for not asking the very common question 'How Can I Add A Turbo'.

You'd be staggered how many think it's as easy as fitting an air freshener :)

Your 1.8 20v unit is quite flexible even in standard form. It is possible to gain about 10bhp from chip tuning or ECU remapping. But as a non-turbo car this will all happen at the top of the rev range, thus compromising fuel economy. if you make regular use of the (small amount) of extra power.

There are other mods you can do, including air intake and exhaust changes.

I'm not a fan of these because they all tend to come with one common problem. Noise.

Enjoy the site.

Thanks for the reply HDi fun. I know theres the usual air filter and exhaust changes, and i am abit like yourself and don't really want to be heard a mile off. The chip tuning or re-map sound quite interesting though and i might look into that a bit more.

hey and welcome to the site mate

ohh you bought the non turbo, well at least you didnt buy the 2.0 ;)