Hello all

Eliminator

Car
Subaru Legacy Wagon
Ok, I just passed my driving test last week and now own 50% of a 2000 Subaru Legacy GL Estate/Wagon 2L AWD, which I share with my father. I'll pay it off fully over the next year or so. It's got 165,000 km and is in fantastic condition.

My father's owned this car for 5 years, and I've driven it for the last 12 months, but he has allowed me to buy it off him over the next year as long as he gets to use it while I'm at Uni.

I'm just happy I can start call it mine, and begin to do things to the car. The car is as stock (just with replaced clutch/flywheel etc...) and the only thing I've done is add a CD player (came with a cassette player!) and new floor mats :grin:

I'm happy atm with the car, however I know that as I get more experienced as a driver, I'll want to start modding to get more performance out of here. That's why I joined here, to research about upgrades/tuning, to look for ideas, gain some useful knowledge and to just generally hang out with

9268984685_f411fca276.jpg

9271768232_24a98a23dc.jpg

9268983535_8f44642837.jpg

The best mods for a car engine are as follows.
Internal work yields the biggest gains, head work like porting polishing and 3 angle valve jobs will maximise the airflow and raise the power.

If you want to go to the max then cryo treat the block, get it rebored and look into blueprinting and balancing as well. You'll also need stronger internal parts if you are looking at a big power hike so forged rods etc.. are the order of the day.
Bigger valves are an obvious add on but not all engines are suitable as it depends how close together the OEM valves are.

A fast road cam will yield good power gains, especially in the top end of the rev range. Don't go mad though a profile of up to 270 degrees will give the best gains without the engine becoming cammy (lumpy tickover at low RPM).