Extra Auxiliary Box

x5ammiebabyx

Car
Focus Zetec 1.8
Hi All...Newbie here

Ive recently passed my test and bought a 2002 silver Focus Zetec 1.8

I really want to spruce it up as its a little boring

I bought the Haynes Maxpower Focus Modifying Manual from Halfords

Ive been looking at fitting neons in footwells etc and LED lights in heater vents but all the lights run from cigarette lighter

In the Manual it shows you how to fit an extra auxiliary box for the mods so i dont have to run them all throught the cigerette lighter, my problem is it doesnt actually tell you WHAT I NEED to fit it...any advice?

Sammie

Hi,thanks for the reply
We popped into Halfords for advice-they actually tried to talk me out of doing the auxiliary box (how rude) saying it would be dangerous to do it without having electrical knowhow-they wanted me to pay them stupid money to do it for me...but the did say if i am going to go ahead with it anyway Id need fuse box (£15) Male and female crimp connectors (99p each from Homebase) Ring terminal (£1.09 from Homebase) and wire (which I'm getting tomorrow)
Now praying for a nice day tomorrow so we can get to work!!

Sammie

Last edited:
£15 for a fuse box :blink:
an inline fuse with 5amp, maybe 10, would have properly done for running neons.
disconnect the battery
snip the aux wire, this is the one that power the HU when the ignitions on, to the stereo and slip some heat shrink over it,
strip both ends and strip one end of the inline fuse
twist all three together and solder.
pull the heat shrink over the solder and apply heat (lighters good enough for this)
strip the other side and put a spade connector on it ( if not long enough solder and cover a length of wire to make it long enough and add the spade connector to this )
connect the spade connector to a switch (very important)
strip and put a connector on another piece of wire
put some heat shrink on the other side
strip the other side o the fuse and put a terminal block on just now.