Airbox mod

stinkbomb

Car
Peugeot 307 2.0 xsi
Hi all,

just come across this forum so thought it the place to ask my Q's :)

I have a 307 2.0 Xsi 2002. Just bought a K&N Panel filter, though before putting it in i was thinking of modding the airbox too for extra air gains.

I have seen examples on many sites for drilling out the airbox and also read posts advising on 'de-restricting' instead. From what i understand de-restricting is taking some bits out of the airbox; may fins or something?? This sounds a better option as i wouldnt want to drill holes in the wrong place and wind up sucking in hot air.

So the question - has anybody any experience with moding an airbox on the 307 xsi, if so which option is best for enhancing performance and could you be so kind as to spell out the way to do it :D

Cheers guys and gals

i have no experience smoothing a 307 air box but the principle is the same on all cars and when i did mine it was just a case of using a dremmel and cutting the excess plastic out (as you already said) and then using sand paper to get as smooth as possible

and when you have finished doing so washing the air box several times cause you dont want any bits of plastic being sucked into your maf/engine as for drilling the box its personal choice im considering doing it just for a slightly louder dv woosh not really worried about the bit of warm air it will suck in cause i have added a 2nd air intake and a larger feed to the air box

im the same as herb i took a chisel and stanley to the ribs in my air box rather than use a dremal ( no melted plastic to scrap off) made it lovely and smooth
thead about it here along with some reading taken.

you can drill out the air box with a large hole (52 mm) and fit some ducting to it if your worried about hot air

Last edited:
im the same as herb i took a chisel and stanley to the ribs in my air box rather than use a dremal ( no melted plastic to scrap off) made it lovely and smooth