Which midrange tyre?

Yugguy

Torque King
Car
Merc C220Cdi Elegan
Hi all

Need some new tyres for the Focus. 195/60/15 88V

I just go up and down the A45 to work, so I am looking for a tyre that is decent in the rain and doesn't cost the earth. The Focus is a well set-up chassis so doesn't need to rely on tyre grip to handle.

Don't want chinese budget specials cos I'd quite like to stay alive, nor do I want to spend 100 quid a corner on premium brands.

I don't do massive miles so I don't want rock-hard energy tyres that last 50k but have no grip

I've narrowed it down to 3 midrange.

Toyo Proxes CF2
Falken Zi Ex
Hankook Ventus Prime.

All between 60 and 70 quid a corner.

Anyone got any experience with these, or any other good suggestions in that price?

Cheers

Falkens Ziex 914 is reckoned to be very good indeed, though I have no personal experience.

Try http://www.tyrereviews.co.uk

Bear in mind that some cars respond differently to tyres than others when you are reading customer/driver opinions

Avon ZV5 is also well liked. Try mytyres, etyres, blackcircles etc.

Selectatyre, Railway Terrace, Rugby has Bridgestone ER300 at just over seventy quid !!!!

www.selectatyre.co.uk

Last edited:
Aye, that's true, what suits one car doesn't suit another.

I'm erring towards the Falkens, I can get them for 59 quid a corner which seems pretty good to me.

I've currently got the Avon zv5's on the rover and for£55 a corner fitted I can't complain! They haven't lost grip once in the rain or on a dry surface. I wanted Michelin primacy's but the rover is a cruising car I don't really throw it round the corners and at £70 a corner I couldn't really justify the extra £60

Primacy 3 and Primacy HP isn't a true sports tyre but they do hang on amazingly well. The 3 wears very quickly though.