mr2 turbo conversion?

erol20

hi guys :)

i currently own a mr2 gt uk car. and am used to the umph of ma bmw 328i coupe which i sadly parted with a few months ago due to savin for a supra, im looking to keep ma mr2 as a friend has alot of land to put the car onto :twisted:

has anyone ever done a 3s-gte into a 3s-ge bay b4?

cheers in advance! :D

Met a guy the other day who'd done this engine swap. He said it wasn't easy and wished he hadn't started it. THe engine bay access is such a big hassle and he had to take the engine out 3 times because he has miss aligned/connected things. So erol it is possible but probably not the easiest of Modifications jut because it is so hard to work on the engine in situ.

Last edited:
its a piece of cake swapping the engine over they are the same engine externally so they use the same mounts if you do get a tyurbo u also need a gear box with drive shafts,

im an electrician by trade and i have taken my engine out 5 times over 18 months just for the crack

stay away from superchargers your internals are not strong enough to make good bhp once you put it on u will of wished you had a turbo engine kicking 300rwhp with only a few mods

Hi Vardymr2 and welcome to TorqueCars - it sounds like you know your stuff when it comes to all things Toyota. I hope you stick around and share your knowledge. You clearly have the nack of removing and installing the MR2 Engines. This is a job my local garage dreads doing.

I'm doing the 3S-GTE engine swap into my 86 MR2 soon and have found a lot of good information about the swap on other forums as well.

Links removed as per T & C

hmm.... iv seen on a forum once that it took em only a couple of mins to fit a v6 into a 1980 something mr2....
i dont think it is hard to work to fit a 3s-gte into an mr2.. cept for the tight working space..
now, that's the downfall about an mr2
im also thinking of doing a 5s-fe swap to a 3s-gte but it's not going to be in an mr2...