Lancer GLX 1.6 estate

Car
Lancer GLX Estate
Hi

Newbie here.
Bought a 2000 GLX 1.6 Lancer estate 10 days ago and very happy with it.
Today my good lady wife made her first driving error in 20 years and rear ended a Pug at 10 MPH resulting in a crease in the bonnet and minor damage to the front end. Being new to Mitsubishi and cars not being my reason to live...i have motorcycles for that :cheesy: Are pattern parts available for my car or do i have to buy OEM parts? Will COLT or other LANCER bonnets fit my car?

I am just trying to see if i can get it repaired without going through the insurance co. I fear they will financially write it off if they look at it and its a cracking car with only 47k genuine on the clock and in superb condition.

Both my wife and i are in our late 40s and until today we have had zero prangs and we dont really know what is the best way to resolve the problem. I have heard you can get a pay out then buy the car back but know nowt about the process or if its viable.

Any advise gratefully received

Cheers

MLC

Welcome along boss. I'll go for an essay because I'm a bit poorly and the misses has gone out :cheesy: Can't speak for the Lancer imparticular but firstly you need to get the front bumper off and assess the damage. Shouldn't pose a problem if you're handy with bikes.

As the crash was only at a low speed, the damage may only be cosmetic. If it is the most cost effective thing to do is try and find the damaged parts in your colour and replace. Simples :amuse: Try ringing round some scrap yards or looking on ebay for breaking Lancers.

Failing that there are a few options. You could get new genuine parts but that would be very expensive. You could get new pattern parts, but they arn't always the best fit. Or you could get second-hand parts of another colour. Either of those will involve getting the parts sprayed though,and that's not cheap either if you don't know anybody.