Audi A6 2.4 30v > is a Turbo upgrade possible?

Niall

Car
Audi A6 Quattro
Hello, I'm a newbie to this forum, I searched for an answer in existing threads but didn't find any, so:

Is a Turbo upgrade possible for the Audi A6 2.4 30v (normally aspirated fuel injected engine)?

What would be the most suitable Turbo make and model?

What would be the extent of the required work, expense, etc?

Advice appreciated, thanks.

Hi Niall and welcome to TorqueCars. Why not do an engine swap with a 2.2 S6 turbo engine - these are very tunable indeed.

The 2.4 is farily high compression and I doubt whether a turbo could be safely run at more than a very modest boost level.

To fit a turbo you would need to change the pistons (lower the compression) I would certainly recommend gas flowing the head. You will also need an intercooler, custom remap and will need to get bigger injectors and better fuel pump. There is also quite a bit of extra piping, Diverter, Wastegage and exhaust header that need to go in. If I remember rightly there is not a lot of room in the 2.4 engine bay as it stands?

On your standard car. A remap will get you another 20bhp to play with match this with better headers and a sports cat and you might be able to get another 30bhp on this engine.

Waynne, thanks for the quick reply.

The 2.4 modification does sound extensive and expensive.

The 2.2 S6 would be one option but it'll be difficult to source one here in Finland (small population, not so many S6s).

So the standard engine remapping is realistically the only option I have and I'd be more than happy with 20bhp more than the current 177bhp.

I'd have to get the remapping done professionally as I've never touched engines other than for minor servicing.

I presume a basic remapping implies no mechanical modifications, only uploading a custome software update to the engine's CPU?