406 Peugeot exhaust system, possible project, need some advice!

tester

Hello,

I'm currently running a 98 Peugeot 406 2.2L ***
and am considering putting a new exhaust system under it.

A little bit about my journey into this idea of a custom exhaust is that I'm originally from America, where I dealt with nothing but v8s or larger. I have very little knowledge of four cylinders. Recently, my muffler became severed from the exhaust pipe (I haven't a clue how, I suppose age + weather changes) and rather than take it to a 'mains' mechanics and have them rip me off by replacing the whole system with manufacturer parts, I considered going to a local garage and having them install a custom one.

Now I'm on the hunt to find a system that I like the sound of, and acquire the appropriate pieces.

My desire is to have something that's loud, but smooth. "Too" loud isn't in my vocabulary, given having spent much time around big motors with very little exhaust resistance and some with header plugs removed. Yet I don't want something that epitomizes cheap DIY four cylinder 'boy racer' that sounds more or less like they punched holes in their exhaust on purpose. I noticed that some four cylinder systems are fairly tame, and when you open the throttle they come to life. That's a nice concept, but I'd prefer the constant hum/noise at all times.

As for budget, well it's not really an issue in monetary terms, but I refuse to spend over 500 GBP, which is about $1000, for a system in a 406!!!

I plan to remove the stock manifold, and replace with some headers which hopefully fit properly. I was considering four inch piping, but I know I'm not going to get that all the way down. Maybe 2.4" or something, then expanded near the rear. I haven't a desire for a silencer/tip, or a muffler. However, will I pass MOT with just CATS?

My real issue is just becoming more familiar with popular 'entry' or 'intermediate' level exhaust systems for larger liter four cylinders.