2001 clio 1.4 16v tuning help wanted

sampsulo

Wrench Pro
Car
98 Celica 3s-ge
hi im a newbie at car tuning and getting my 1st car monday. 2001 clio 1.4 16v...any help? need to be able to match to vw citi golfs

Re: Clio Owners introduce yourselves here.

hey and welcome to the site mate.
where abouts you from ? citigolfs are south african Mk1s.
realistacly you wont get much gains from a 1.4, focus on handling - tyres and suspension.
performance upgrades look at panel filter ( if you want noise drill some holes in the base o the airbox ) full exhaust system with sports cat and manifold. just remember and inform the insurance company of everything you do to it

Hi sampsulo,

If engine upgrades i what you want... personaly I suggest a induction kit, a cip upgrade, and a new exhaust. I have a clio 1.2 8v, but in my search for parts I almost always came across parts for the 1.4 16v so it shouldn't be a problem finding some interesting parts, just google clio engine tuning or clio parts, or something similar. Also I agree with pgarner, you are not gonna get too much juice from the engine, but with a good set of springs and shocks and some tweaking I think you might just get a fairly quick car.
Personaly I suggest starting with a panel filter (K&N I'm hearing are the most popular and best in my opinion), and a cip/flash upgrade (you have an OBDII so it could be done over the port).

P.S. Word of advice: ALWAYS read about the stuff you buy (on forums, impressions, search for sites for info on the stuff), because nothing is what it seems and also anything that is cheaper is way worse (99% of the time). Careful of the cip tuning, most companies say much nonsens and you may end up with a broken engine than a racer, try to find a company with reputation in modifing Renault, and go for a mild tune.

Hope I helped:p