Which are the best oil brands to use

obi_waynne

Administrator
Staff member
Car
A3 1.4 TFSI 150 COD
What do you think are the best brands of oil to use? Do you use and stick with one particular brand?

I've been using Fuchs Titan XTL oils for about five years. Currently GT1 Pro C3 5w30 in the VW. It seems absolutely fine (well, the engine is anyway, can't say the same thing of the rest of the car!) at 150,000 miles so I see no need to increase my oil spend. Opie Oils prices are attractive so that's where I get mine.

There isn't really a best oil brand. Fuchs, Castrol, Shell, Mobil, Red Line, Motul, Millers, Gulf and Valvoline are the ones that we deal with and they all make some really good oils, but most of them make some basic ones as well. For example, Fuchs make their Titan Race Pro S oils, which are proper performance oils, then there are the oils like the GT1 and Supersyn that are aimed at normal road use and meeting manufacturer specs, then there are semi-synthetics and mineral oils like Syn MC and Superma that are aimed at being cheaper options for older, standard road cars. In fairness, the Fuchs semi and mineral oils are pretty good for cheaper oil. Millers, Gulf and Motul all have corresponding products through their ranges. Shell, Castrol, Mobil and Valvoline don't have the ester based performance oils, but are pretty similar otherwise.

I wouldn't worry to much about the best brand, worry more about the ones to avoid. Own brand and budget brand oils can be a long way from what they say they are on the can and some put so little information on the label that it's pretty meaningless anyway.

Cheers

Tim

I wasn't suggesting that Fuchs is the best, or even the best for me. Just saying that I use it and it seems to work OK. I have previously used Shell, Castrol, Gulf, Mobil, MIllers, AMSOIL etc and they all seem to do the job required of them. I haven't yet had an engine failure.